Software

Laser cutting with Inkscape

Lasersnijden met Inkscape - Snijlab

Inkscape is a free and open source vector-editing programme. It is available for Windows, Linux and OSX. Inkscape uses the .svg file format as standard, which you can upload directly to us. It also works well with other formats such as .pdf and .dxf. Inkscape is:

  • Easy to learn
  • Free
  • Suitable for graphic design and simple technical work

Get started

Create a new file in Inkscape.

  • Ensure all fills (‘Fills’) are set to ‘No paint’.
  • Use colours according to the design rules; blue for cutting & red for line engraving.
Tip: set the line thickness to 0.2mm. (This is approximately the width of the laser cut, giving you a good idea of the possible level of detail.)

    Text objects

    Text must be converted to lines (paths, or ‘paths’) before it can be cut or engraved.

    • Select the text and go to: Menu > Path > Object to Path.
    • Note that the fill (‘Fill’) is turned off & that the outlines (‘stroke paint’) have a colour.

    The distinction between cutting and engraving is made (when uploading as .svg or .pdf) based on colours:

    • Blue objects are cut through.
    • Red objects are surface engraved.
    • Grey objects are ignored (useful, for example, for using the material dimensions as a frame)

    Note: when saving as .dxf, it is also important which layers the objects are in.
    See the design rules.

    The easiest way: simply save your design as Inkscape SVG (File > Save As > "Inkscape SVG") and upload that file. Ensure your document unit is set to mm (Document Properties); if no unit is specified in the file, we will assume 1 unit = 1 mm and ask you to confirm this in the editor.

    File > Save As > "Portable Document Format (.pdf)"
    In the pop-up window, choose the option: 'export area is drawing' and PDF version 1.5

    Save as .dxf (alternative)

    In some cases, not all objects are saved correctly in the PDF. As an alternative, you can save as a .dxf file.
    Note that for .dxf files, it is necessary to place the objects in the correct layers.

    File > Save As > Desktop Cutting Plotter (.dxf)

    Enable the option 'use LWPOLYPOLYLINE type of line output'.

    to our website and drag your file(s) into the upload field. Carefully check if:

    • the dimensions are correct.
    • the preview colours match the intended operations.
    • Blue = cut through completely.
    • Red = line / vector engraving.
    • Grey = no operation / layer to be ignored.

    Continue reading

    Laser-Kumiko - Snijlab
    Joris Kuipers op OBJECT 2023 - Snijlab